About Us

Sri Lanka Japan Cultural Centre, commonly known as The Sasakawa Hall is the only Japanese Government approved Cultural Centre in Sri Lanka managed by a Government approved Trust. The Cultural Centre was constructed during the tenure of office of Late President J.R.Jayawardene in recognition of the strong bonds of friendship that Japan and Sri Lanka had from time immemorial.

Philanthropist Mr.Ryoichi Sasakawa the then President of the Nippon Foundation of Japan funded for construction of the building complex of the Sri Lanka Japan Cultural Centre and declared opened by Hon.D.B.Wijetunga the then Prime Minister of Sri Lanka on 10th February 1990.

The three-storied building complex in-houses its three constituent associations, Japan Sri Lanka Friendship Society, JAICA AA and JASTECA (and the two sister Associations of JASTECA namely JLEA and JIM). Japan Solidarity Association is also operates in the premises. Daily classes are conducted at the Cultural Centre to teach Japanese Language to about 1000 Sri Lankan students per annum by Japanese Language Education Association (JLEA).

The second floor of the building consists of a fully Air Conditioned Auditorium which can accommodate 300 Guests and an Air Conditioned Reception Room which can occupy 50 Guests. The Air Conditioned Board Room in the first floor has the capacity to accommodate 40 guests and the building consists of several class rooms (AC and Non AC) in the ground and the 1st floors. All venues are available on hiring basis to institutions and individuals to conduct Seminars, Training Programs, Meetings and also for Weddings, Home Comings, Private Parties and other Social Functions on very attractive charges, probably the lowest in the Colombo City.

The Cultural Centre is located at No.4, 22nd Lane, Galle Road, Colombo 3 (adjoining Sri Lanka Tourist Board Building).Because of the convenient location in the heart of the Colombo city our Venues are very popular among the public. We are proud to state that around 60,000 visitors and students visit the Cultural Centre for various Social Functions, Training Programs, Seminars, Meetings and Japanese Language Classes every year.

Our in-house caterer “Grosvenar Caterers” is ready to accept any orders in Western and Sri Lankan cuisine but the customers have the option to choose any outside Caterer as well. With a view to provide a better service to our customers The Cultural Centre endures to provide a one-stop service by providing the Menus and Quotations of the In-house Caterer, arrangements for table and seat covers through the suppliers at the booking counter itself instead of the customer having to make alternative arrangements. Podium, Couch, Traditional Brass Oil Lamp, CD player, Microphones & Sound System are some of the facilities offered free of charge to our customers.

The Cultural Centre is managed by the Saskawa Memorial Sri Lanka Japan Cultural Centre Trust established on 15th January 1987, a Government approved Trust consisting of professionals and business executives. Deshamanya Dr.P.R.Anthonis was the founder Chairman of the Trust from the inception until 2009.On his demise Mr.Dayasiri Warnakulasooriya was elected as the Chairman of the Trust in 2009 and continued until 2011.Mr.Daya Wettasinghe was the 3rd Chairman of the Trust from 2012 to 2014 and Mr.Upali S.Jayasekara elected in 2014 is the present Chairman.

Deshamanya Dr.P.R.Anthonis
Deshamanya Dr.P.R.Anthonis
Founder Chairman 1987 – 2009
Mr.Dayasiri Warnakulasooriya
Mr.Dayasiri Warnakulasooriya
Chairman 2009 – 2012
Mr.Daya Weththasinghe
Mr.Daya Weththasinghe
Chairman 2012 - 2014
Mr.Upali S.Jayasekara
Mr. Upali S. Jayasekera
Chairman 2014 - 2016
Mr. Lal de Alwis
Mr. Lal de Alwis
Chairman From 2016

Board of Trustees – 2016/2018

  • Mr. Daya Weththasinghe - Chairman
  • Mr. Tilak De Zoysa - Senior Vice Chairman
  • Mr. Chitral Jayawardena - Vice Chairman
  • Mr. Sam Chandrasena - Secretary
  • Mr. Sumana D. Liyanage - Treasurer
  • Mr. Camillus R. Abeygoonawardena - Asst Secretary / Asst. Treasurerr
  • Mr. Dayasiri Warnakulasooriya - Past Chairman
  • Mr. Premalal Fernando - Trustee
  • Administrative Staff

  • Administrative Secretary - Mr. K.K. Dayaratna
  • Assistant Admn. Secretary -:Ms. Diyani Jansz
  • Accounts Assistant - Ms. Esther Thilakaratne